1 minute read

The restart with 8 laps to go at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was a dramatic one on Sunday, August 23rd. As Marcus Ericsson and Pato O’Ward touched, O’Ward crashed out of the race while Josef Newgarden, Felix Rosenqvist and Alexander Rossi all drove their way past him. With Ericsson, Palou, Rosenqvist, O’Ward, VeeKay, Ilott, Power, Rossi, and Castroneves all leading laps, it was clear that this was going to be an exciting finish.

At Lap 130, the four drivers at the front were neck-and-neck as Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist, Santino Ferrucci, and Josef Newgarden raced to the finish. O’Ward was leading, but Rosenqvist was close behind, followed by Ferrucci and Newgarden. These four drivers were spectacularly close for such a long race, with the gap between them rarely more than a second or two throughout the entire race.

Notably, apart from the three Ganassi cars (Palou, Ericsson in 8th, and Sato in 10th) all the leaders were using Chevrolet engines. This dominance of the top 14 places showed the strength of the GM brand at the Indy Speedway, and highlighted the commitment of Chevrolet to the world of motorsport.

It was an amazing day at the Indy Speedway, with heart-stopping action from the green flag to the checkered flag. The consistency of the Chevrolet engines and the incredible driving performance of the four drivers at the front made this one of the most exciting IndyCar races in recent memory. With Chevrolet’s dominance and the thrilling finish, it’s no wonder that this was one of the most exciting races of the year.