TikTok is testing a Repost button, a new way for users to share videos with their followers, according to a Tuesday report by TechCrunch. The button is comparable to Twitter’s retweet feature, allowing people to share a clip that’ll then appear on their friends’ For You pages (or in their homepage feeds).
The Repost button reportedly appears under the share arrow on the right panel of the screen, where you can already send TikTok videos directly to friends or post to social media. Reposted videos will not appear on your TikTok account. TechCrunch states that they will only appear in the feeds of your friends.
Get the CNET Mobile newsletter
Get the CNET Mobile newsletter to find the best smartphones, apps, and accessories. Delivered Tuesdays & Thursdays
A TikTok representative said to CNET that they are always looking for new ways to add value to the community and enhance the TikTok experience. We’re currently testing a new way to allow TikTok users to share TikTok videos that they like. “
The Repost option shows up only if you come across a video on your For You page, TechCrunch notes. It won’t show up if you don’t find the video on your Discover page or in a TikTok message.
Also, these recommended videos will show up in people’s feeds only if they follow the person who reposted the clip and that person follows them, too. TechCrunch reports that the company is currently testing the button with a limited number of users.